Book Recommendation Roundup

1.jpg

  1. These Girls by Sarah Pekkanen – This is a great book to check out for fans of Emily Giffin and Liane Moriarty books.  The story alternates between the points of view of three girls in their twenties, who are all struggling with something different.  Two of the girls are roommates and end up taking the third girl under their wing after a friend reaches out to them for help.  This is a great book about friendship and how powerful it can be during both the good and bad times in life. (5 out of 5 stars)
  2. Her by Harriet Lane – This story alternates between the points of view of two middle aged women who are in very different points in their lives.  Emma is a stay at home mother to two small children and Nina is a self employed artist with a teenage daughter.  Despite their differences, Nina is determined to insert herself into Emma’s life and befriend her.  As the story progresses, Nina’s ulterior motives are slowly revealed and the cracks begin to show in the women’s friendship.  This book was chilling from beginning to end and gradually increased suspense with each chapter.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about the ending of the story immediately after finishing it but once I had time to think it over, I think the author did a great job in the way she concluded it. (4.5 out of 5 stars)
  3. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo – This book was both heart wrenching and heartwarming all in one.  A teenage girl, Amanda, starts a new high school in an effort to start over after being bullied and isolated at her previous school.  She’s quickly accepted into a group of girl friends and even begins dating her first ever boyfriend.  Despite everything going so well at her new school, Amanda is terrified that her secret past will be revealed.  She questions whether she would still be accepted if her friends and boyfriend knew about everything she left behind.  This was a great story about fitting in and being different.  The author did a fantastic job in her portrayal of Amanda and I enjoyed reading this story from start to finish. (5 out of 5 stars)
  4. Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon – This was a great thriller but so difficult to read.  After losing everything in her personal life, a journalist struggling with alcoholism begins to investigate the circumstances involving the assault of a teenage girl who has been in a coma for the past fifteen years.  Despite being an emotional read at times, it is well worth it for the high level of suspense and shocking twist ending. (5 out of 5 stars)
  5. The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn – This was another great thriller and it was a little less heavy, in my opinion, than Try Not to Breathe.  A woman takes a job as a live-in gardener and caretaker at a reclusive home in the countryside, in an attempt to leave her previous life behind her.  The man who owns the home rarely speaks and locks himself in his workroom for the majority of his days.  As the woman begins to get to know him better, they begin a strange relationship that is clouded by both of their pasts. The only reason I would give this book 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was a little slow at times and I felt like the ending was a little rushed.  Overall, it was a great book and had a much different plot than any I’ve read before. (4 out of 5 stars)
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s