Beauty Review: NYX Matte Vs. Gloss

I love NYX makeup and how high quality it is for such an affordable price.  Recently, I tried two of their lip products and wanted to share a review, comparing the two.

First, I purchased the NYX Lingerie Lipstick, which is a matte liquid lipstick.  I picked “Baby Doll”; one of their lighter nude shades.  In the past, I was hesitant to try matte products because I was afraid they would make my lips look dried out.  Unfortunately, this product did exactly that.  Once the product dried, it was easy to see all the lines on my lips and it looked more like paint than lipstick.  I really wanted to like it but unfortunately it just wasn’t the product for me.  However, I have seen others wear it online and it looks really pretty.  It may just depend on the person!

I returned the Lingerie Lipstick and purchased the NYX Butter Gloss in “Fortune Cookie.”  This was a slightly lighter nude than the Lingerie Lipstick.  I’ve tried this gloss in other shades before so I was pretty sure this pick would be a hit – and it was!  This is my favorite lip gloss because it really is a buttery consistency like the name says.  It makes lips looks smooth and even smells good.  I really like the nude shade and how it goes with any makeup look or outfit.  If you’re looking for a new lip gloss to try, I definitely recommend this one!

Have any of you tried either of these products?  What did you think?  Let me know in the comments!  Thanks for stopping by the blog.

Leave a Reply

